Share this story...
Latest News

MLB Baseball

#7
Eric Thames
AVG HR RBI
.278 13 26
Team: MilwaukeeHt / Wt: 6-0 / 205 NFBC ADP: 182.19
Position: 1BBorn: 11/10/1986 Birthplace: Santa Clara, California
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 7th Round by Blue Jays (2008)


Latest News
May 28 7:24 AM PT8:24 AM MT9:24 AM CT10:24 AM ET10:24 ET14:24 GMT22:24 7:24 AM MST9:24 AM EST9:54 AM VEN18:24 UAE9:24 AM CT-Eric Thames went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Milwaukee Brewers topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-1. He ended the game with a .278 batting average.
May 27 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Eric Thames went 0 for 4 Friday as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
Analysis: Thames is in a 3-for-30 slump, going hitless in his last three games.
May 26 8:11 AM PT9:11 AM MT10:11 AM CT11:11 AM ET11:11 ET15:11 GMT23:11 8:11 AM MST10:11 AM EST10:41 AM VEN19:11 UAE10:11 AM CT-Eric Thames went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Milwaukee Brewers fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-0. He ended the game with a .294 batting average.
Analysis: Thames is 3 for 26 (.115) with one RBI and 10 strikeouts in his last 10 games. He's gone 11 straight without homering, falling one off the NL lead with his 13 home runs.
May 24 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Eric Thames went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Milwaukee Brewers fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4. He ended the game with a .302 batting average.
May 23 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Eric Thames went 1 for 2 Tuesday as the Milwaukee Brewers fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-3. Thames added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .309 batting average.
May 21 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Eric Thames went 0 for 3 with an RBI Sunday as the Milwaukee Brewers fell to the Chicago Cubs 13-6. He ended the game with a .306 batting average.
Analysis: Thames left in the bottom of the fifth with leg cramping but manager Craig Counsell didn't sound too concerned. ''Today was more precautionary,'' Counsell said. ''He wanted to stay in the game, but at that point it was 6-1, so let's go to battle Tuesday.''
May 21 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Thames has left Milwaukee's game against the Chicago Cubs in the bottom of the fifth inning because of leg cramping.
Analysis: Thames went 0 for 3 on Sunday. He had a run-scoring groundout to first base in his last at-bat in the top of the fifth. Jesus Aguilar replaced Thames at first base. Thames has 13 homers this season.
May 19 5:32 PM PT6:32 PM MT7:32 PM CT8:32 PM ET20:32 ET0:32 GMT8:32 5:32 PM MST7:32 PM EST8:02 PM VEN4:32 UAE (+1)7:32 PM CT-Eric Thames went 1 for 3 Friday as the Milwaukee Brewers topped the Chicago Cubs 6-3. Thames scored twice. He ended the game with a .313 batting average.
Analysis: Thames was back in the lineup for the first time since Sunday. He missed the first three games of the San Diego series before pinch hitting against the Padres on Thursday.
May 18 5:39 PM PT6:39 PM MT7:39 PM CT8:39 PM ET20:39 ET0:39 GMT8:39 5:39 PM MST7:39 PM EST8:09 PM VEN4:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Eric Thames went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Milwaukee Brewers topped the San Diego Padres 4-2. He ended the game with a .313 batting average.
Analysis: Thames (strep throat), who didn't start in the four-game series, flied out as a pinch-hitter and is expected to start Friday.
May 16 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Thames (illness) is out of the lineup for the fourth straight game Thursday.
Analysis: Thames has a .483 OBP with two homers, two doubles, five RBIs and seven runs in his last seven games.
May 14 5:30 PM PT6:30 PM MT7:30 PM CT8:30 PM ET20:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 5:30 PM MST7:30 PM EST8:00 PM VEN4:30 UAE (+1)7:30 PM CT-Eric Thames went 1 for 3 Sunday as the Milwaukee Brewers topped the New York Mets 11-9. He ended the game with a .315 batting average.
Analysis: Thames scored three times Sunday, and has a .483 OBP with two homers, five RBIs and seven runs in his last seven games.
May 13 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Eric Thames went 0 for 2 Saturday as the Milwaukee Brewers topped the New York Mets 11-4. Thames scored once. He ended the game with a .315 batting average.
May 13 9:06 PM PT10:06 PM MT11:06 PM CT12:06 AM ET0:06 ET4:06 GMT12:06 9:06 PM MST11:06 PM EST11:36 PM VEN8:06 UAE11:06 PM CT-Eric Thames went 0 for 4 Friday as the Milwaukee Brewers beat the New York Mets 7-4. He ended the game with a .320 batting average.
May 11 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Eric Thames went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Milwaukee Brewers fell to the Boston Red Sox 4-1. He ended the game with a .331 batting average.
Analysis: Thames was used as a pinch hitter as the Brewers played a day game after a night game.
May 11 10:23 AM PT11:23 AM MT12:23 PM CT1:23 PM ET13:23 ET17:23 GMT1:23 10:23 AM MST12:23 PM EST12:53 PM VEN21:23 UAE12:23 PM CT-Eric Thames went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Wednesday as the Milwaukee Brewers beat the Boston Red Sox 7-4. Thames scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
Analysis: Thames is 7 for 13 with four extra-base hits and five RBIs in his last three games.
May 10 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Eric Thames went 2 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Tuesday as the Milwaukee Brewers beat the Boston Red Sox 11-7. The homer was his 13th of the season. He ended the game with a .327 batting average.
Analysis: After his nine-game drought without a homer, Thames suddenly has two in two games.
May 7 3:37 PM PT4:37 PM MT5:37 PM CT6:37 PM ET18:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)5:37 PM CT-Eric Thames went 3 for 4 with a double, a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the Milwaukee Brewers beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-2. The homer was his 12th of the season. He ended the game with a .324 batting average.
Analysis: Thames had gone nine games without homering after his 11-homer onslaught in the first 20 games.
May 6 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Eric Thames went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 2-1. He ended the game with a .308 batting average.
May 6 9:46 PM PT10:46 PM MT11:46 PM CT12:46 AM ET0:46 ET4:46 GMT12:46 9:46 PM MST11:46 PM EST12:16 AM VEN8:46 UAE11:46 PM CT-Eric Thames went 0 for 4 Friday as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-0. He ended the game with a .310 batting average.
May 5 9:27 AM PT10:27 AM MT11:27 AM CT12:27 PM ET12:27 ET16:27 GMT0:27 9:27 AM MST11:27 AM EST11:57 AM VEN20:27 UAE11:27 AM CT-Thames went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Milwaukee Brewers beat the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4. Thames scored once. He ended the game with a .323 batting average.
Analysis: Thames hasn't homered in seven games.
May 3 8:13 AM PT9:13 AM MT10:13 AM CT11:13 AM ET11:13 ET15:13 GMT23:13 8:13 AM MST10:13 AM EST10:43 AM VEN19:13 UAE10:13 AM CT-Thames went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Milwaukee Brewers fell to the St. Louis Cardinals 2-1. He ended the game with a .326 batting average.
Analysis: Thames has cooled off, batting 3 for 19 in the last five games.
May 2 8:32 AM PT9:32 AM MT10:32 AM CT11:32 AM ET11:32 ET15:32 GMT23:32 8:32 AM MST10:32 AM EST11:02 AM VEN19:32 UAE10:32 AM CT-Eric Thames went 1 for 4 with a double and an RBI Monday as the Milwaukee Brewers beat the St. Louis Cardinals 7-5. Thames scored once. He ended the game with a .341 batting average.
Apr. 30 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Thames went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Milwaukee Brewers beat the Atlanta Braves 4-3. He ended the game with a .345 batting average.
Analysis: Thames is the feel-good story of the first month, but is 7 for 31 in his last nine games with 11 strikeouts.
Apr. 30 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Eric Thames went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Atlanta Braves 11-3. He ended the game with a .350 batting average.
Apr. 29 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Eric Thames went 1 for 4 Friday as the Milwaukee Brewers fell to the Atlanta Braves 10-8. Thames scored once. He ended the game with a .364 batting average.
Apr. 28 4:09 PM PT5:09 PM MT6:09 PM CT7:09 PM ET19:09 ET23:09 GMT7:09 4:09 PM MST6:09 PM EST6:39 PM VEN3:09 UAE (+1)6:09 PM CT-Thames is back in the starting lineup for the Milwaukee Brewers on Friday night after leaving Wednesday's game with left hamstring tightness.
Analysis: Thames, who leads the majors with 11 homers, appeared to be favoring his left hamstring as he stretched before the Cincinnati Reds batted in the eighth inning on Wednesday. Manager Craig Counsell talked with him near first base before the two walked off the field. Thames, who returned to the majors this season after playing in South Korea for three years, said he first felt the tug on his left hamstring about a week ago, but played through the discomfort.
Apr. 26 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Thames exited Wednesday's game against Cincinnati Reds in the seventh inning with a tight left hamstring. "It's not a big deal," Brewers manager Craig Counsell of Thames, who had been plagued by the injury for the past five days.
Analysis: Thames entered play on Wednesday as the major league leader in homers (11) and pushed his league-best total in runs scored to 27 after crossing the plate twice in the 9-4 win. The 30-year-old homered in each of Milwaukee's first six games versus Cincinnati before being held in the park on Wednesday. Thames, who is batting .370 with 19 RBIs, had a single and two walks. "We have an off-day (Thursday), and I'm going to take full advantage of that," Thames said.
Apr. 26 9:40 AM PT10:40 AM MT11:40 AM CT12:40 PM ET12:40 ET16:40 GMT0:40 9:40 AM MST11:40 AM EST12:10 PM VEN20:40 UAE11:40 AM CT-Thames hit his major league-leading 11th home run - his eighth against Cincinnati this season - and the Milwaukee Brewers cruised to a 9-1 victory over the Reds.
Analysis: Thames is the first player in the modern era to homer in each of his first six games against an opponent. No other player has eight home runs total this season.
Apr. 24 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)10:58 PM CT-Thames homered twice to raise his major league-leading total to 10 and the Milwaukee Brewers beat the Cincinnati Reds 11-7 on Monday night.
Analysis: Thames, who is slugging .910 and has a 1.392 OPS, is feasting on Cincinnati pitching this season, going 7 for 19 with seven homers and 11 RBIs.
Apr. 22 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Thames, who leads Milwaukee with eight home runs, drew three walks in Saturday's loss to the Cardinals.
Analysis: Thames has been as hot as anyone in the league, and now it appears teams have begun pitching around the surprising slugger.
Apr. 21 9:16 AM PT10:16 AM MT11:16 AM CT12:16 PM ET12:16 ET16:16 GMT0:16 9:16 AM MST11:16 AM EST11:46 AM VEN20:16 UAE11:16 AM CT-Thames hit his MLB-leading eighth homer - a two-run shot in the fifth inning - and finished 2 for 4 with two runs scored in Thursday's win over St. Louis.
Analysis: Only time will tell if he can keep it up, but Thames needs to be locked into fantasy lineups as he continues to punish opposing pitching. The former Korean League star is on an eight-game barrage in which he's hit .484 (15 for 31) with seven homers, 11 RBIs and 16 runs scored.
Apr. 19 6:06 PM PT7:06 PM MT8:06 PM CT9:06 PM ET21:06 ET1:06 GMT9:06 6:06 PM MST8:06 PM EST8:36 PM VEN5:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-Thames went 0 for 2 with three walks Wednesday against the Cubs to see his 11-game hitting streak come to an end.
Analysis: After going 0 for 1 as a pinch-hitter on April 4, Thames hit .452 (19 for 42) with seven homers, 10 RBIs and 16 runs during the hit streak.
Apr. 18 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-Thames failed to homer in a sixth straight game Tuesday at Chicago, instead settling for his second straight three-hit game.
Analysis: Since going 0 for 1 as a pinch-hitter on April 4, Thames is batting .452 (19 for 42) with seven homers, 10 RBIs and 16 runs. Thames set a Brewers record by getting a hit in his 12th straight start to begin the season. The former Korean star has an extra-base hit in eight consecutive games.
Apr. 17 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Thames had three hits and tied a franchise record by homering in his fifth straight game on Monday. The former Korean baseball star hit a solo shot off Chicago Cubs right-hander John Lackey in the third inning Monday night. Thames' streak ties him with Jeromy Burnitz in August 1997 for the franchise mark.
Analysis: Thames has seven homers in 14 games this year and six over his past five games. Hopefully, you picked him up by now.
Apr. 16 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Thames homered for a fourth straight game in the Brewers' 4-2 win over the Reds on Sunday.
Analysis: Thames, who hadn't played in the majors since 2012, had five homers in the series against the Reds.
Apr. 15 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Thames connected for two more solo homers and scored three times in the Brewers' loss at Cincinnati on Saturday.
Analysis: Thames, who spent the previous three seasons playing in Korea, is making Brewers GM David Stearns look like a smart man by producing five homers and 10 RBIs through his first 10 games back in the majors. The 30-year-old is now riding an eight-game hitting streak and is 6 for 12 with four homers, seven RBIs and six runs scored over his last three outings.
Apr. 14 8:39 PM PT9:39 PM MT10:39 PM CT11:39 PM ET23:39 ET3:39 GMT11:39 8:39 PM MST10:39 PM EST11:09 PM VEN7:39 UAE (+1)10:39 PM CT-Thames homered for the second straight night, singled and drove in three runs as the Brewers beat the Reds 10-4 on Friday night.
Analysis: Thames has hit safely in seven straight games, batting .400 with three homers and two doubles.
Apr. 13 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Thames homered and Jimmy Nelson turned in his second straight strong start and the Milwaukee Brewers snapped Cincinnati's four-game winning streak, knocking off the Reds 5-1 Thursday night.
Analysis: Thames has gotten off to a nice start in his first season with Milwaukee. He's hitting .360 with two home runs and five RBIs in eight games.
Apr. 6 5:14 PM PT6:14 PM MT7:14 PM CT8:14 PM ET20:14 ET0:14 GMT8:14 5:14 PM MST7:14 PM EST7:44 PM VEN4:14 UAE (+1)7:14 PM CT-Thames singled and walked Thursday against the Rockies.
Analysis: Thames, who spent the last three seasons in the Korean Baseball Organization and led the league with 40 homers in 2016, is 4 for 12 with a homer and three RBIs through Milwaukee's first four games.
Apr. 6 8:38 AM PT9:38 AM MT10:38 AM CT11:38 AM ET11:38 ET15:38 GMT23:38 8:38 AM MST10:38 AM EST11:08 AM VEN19:38 UAE10:38 AM CT-Thames hit his first major league homer in nearly five years and finished 2 for 4 in Wednesday's win over Colorado.
Analysis: Thames, who spent the last three seasons in the Korean Baseball Organization and led the league with 40 homers in 2016, last went deep in an MLB game on Sept. 23, 2012. The 30-year-old's comeback is off to a good start, as he's 3 for 9 with three RBIs through Milwaukee's first three games.
Mar. 8 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET0:24 GMT8:24 5:24 PM MST7:24 PM EST7:54 PM VEN4:24 UAE (+1)6:24 PM CT-Milwaukee newcomer Eric Thames doubled on Wednesday to raise his spring batting average to .167.
Analysis: Fantasy owners have a right to be skeptical concerning Thames, who arrives after a successful run in Japan. He'll have to prove he can perform similarly on the big stage here.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Tor 95 362 58 95 24 5 12 37 23 88 2 1 .262 .313 .456
2012 Tor 46 148 17 36 7 1 3 11 9 40 0 1 .243 .288 .365
2012 Sea 40 123 10 27 5 2 6 14 6 47 1 0 .220 .256 .439
2012 Tot 86 271 27 63 12 3 9 25 15 87 1 1 .232 .273 .399
2017 Mil 44 151 39 42 9 0 13 26 29 43 2 1 .278 .408 .596
Career 225 784 124 200 45 8 34 88 67 218 5 3 .255 .320 .463


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.