Share this story...
Latest News

MLB Baseball

#34
Félix Hernández
ERA W-L K
5.14 6-6 76
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-3 / 225
Position: SPBorn: 4/8/1986 Birthplace: Valencia, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Mariners (2002)


Latest News
June 20 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Felix Hernandez allowed two runs - one earned - on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners lost to the New York Yankees 7-5 on Wednesday. Hernandez struck out six, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
June 15 10:10 PM PT11:10 PM MT12:10 AM CT1:10 AM ET1:10 ET5:10 GMT13:10 10:10 PM MST12:10 AM EST11:10 PM CST12:40 AM VEN9:10 UAE12:10 AM CT-Felix Hernandez fell to 6-6, allowing two runs on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Boston Red Sox 2-1 on Thursday. Hernandez struck out six, ending the game with a 5.44 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 9 4:05 PM PT5:05 PM MT6:05 PM CT7:05 PM ET19:05 ET23:05 GMT7:05 4:05 PM MST6:05 PM EST5:05 PM CST6:35 PM VEN3:05 UAE (+1)6:05 PM CT-Felix Hernandez fell to 6-5, allowing six runs - five earned - on seven hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-3 on Saturday. Hernandez struck out two, ending the game with a 5.70 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 3 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Felix Hernandez improved to 6-4, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Sunday. Hernandez struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.33 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 30 10:54 PM PT11:54 PM MT12:54 AM CT1:54 AM ET1:54 ET5:54 GMT13:54 10:54 PM MST12:54 AM EST11:54 PM CST1:24 AM VEN9:54 UAE12:54 AM CT-Felix Hernandez allowed five runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Texas Rangers 9-5 on Tuesday. Hernandez struck out four, ending the game with a 5.83 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
May 24 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST4:24 PM CST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Felix Hernandez fell to 5-4, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Thursday. Hernandez struck out two, ending the game with a 5.58 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
May 19 10:01 PM PT11:01 PM MT12:01 AM CT1:01 AM ET1:01 ET5:01 GMT13:01 10:01 PM MST12:01 AM EST11:01 PM CST12:31 AM VEN9:01 UAE12:01 AM CT-Felix Hernandez allowed four runs - three earned - on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Friday. Hernandez struck out four, ending the game with a 5.53 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 12 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Felix Hernandez improved to 5-3, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Detroit Tigers 9-5 on Saturday. Hernandez struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.66 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
May 6 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST5:26 PM CST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Felix Hernandez fell to 4-3, allowing five runs on seven hits and four walks in 5.2 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Los Angeles Angels 8-2 on Sunday. Hernandez struck out five, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 2 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST11:21 PM CST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Felix Hernandez improved to 4-2, allowing three runs on three hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-3 on Tuesday. Hernandez struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.89 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Felix Hernandez improved to 3-2, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-3 on Wednesday. Hernandez struck out six, ending the game with a 4.96 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Felix Hernandez allowed two runs on four hits and two walks in 5.1 innings as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Texas Rangers 6-2 on Friday. Hernandez struck out five, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Felix Hernandez fell to 2-2, allowing two runs on five hits in 6.1 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Oakland Athletics 2-1 on Sunday. Hernandez struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.48 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST9:15 PM CST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Felix Hernandez improved to 2-1, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-3 on Tuesday. Hernandez struck out three, ending the game with a 6.60 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Felix Hernandez fell to 1-1, allowing eight runs on six hits and five walks in 4.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the San Francisco Giants 10-1 on Wednesday. Hernandez struck out one, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST10:49 PM CST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Felix Hernandez improved to 1-0, allowing two hits and two walks over 5.1 scoreless innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Cleveland Indians 2-1 on Thursday. Hernandez struck out four, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 25 12:33 PM PT1:33 PM MT2:33 PM CT3:33 PM ET15:33 ET19:33 GMT3:33 12:33 PM MST2:33 PM EST1:33 PM CST3:03 PM VEN23:33 UAE1:33 PM CT-Mariners manager Scott Servais announced that Hernandez will make his 10th consecutive opening day start.
Analysis: Hernandez missed some time this spring after he took a line drive off his right arm, and he'll surely be on a pitch count after throwing only 3 2/3 innings in his most recent Cactus League appearance. The longtime Seattle ace also gets a tough opening draw in the Indians' Corey Kluber in Thursday's opener.
Feb. 27 8:21 AM PT9:21 AM MT10:21 AM CT11:21 AM ET11:21 ET16:21 GMT0:21 9:21 AM MST11:21 AM EST10:21 AM CST11:51 AM VEN20:21 UAE10:21 AM CT-The Mariners believe Hernandez will miss only one Cactus League start due to a bruised right forearm he sustained in Monday's spring debut.
Analysis: Mariners manager Scott Servais said Hernandez is still experiencing some swelling after being struck in his throwing arm by a line drive off the bat of the Cubs' Victor Caratini, but the injury doesn't appear to be a major concern. Barring any setbacks, the 2010 AL Cy Young Award winner should be ready for the start of the regular season.
Feb. 26 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET22:01 GMT6:01 3:01 PM MST5:01 PM EST4:01 PM CST5:31 PM VEN2:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Hernandez has been hit in his pitching arm by a line drive and forced to leave a spring training game. Hernandez was struck on the upper right forearm by a liner from Victor Caratini of the Chicago Cubs.
Analysis: The Mariners said Hernandez would be examined at the team complex in Peoria, and it would be determined if an X-ray or further testing was needed. The club said it might not have a full update on Hernandez until Tuesday. The 31-year-old star was slowed by injuries last year and hoping to start out strong this season. After being hit, Hernandez immediately grabbed his arm and didn't pursue the ball on the infield grass.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 Sea 4 4 0 - 0 12 12 0 84.1 61 26 25 5 23 0 77 1.00 2.67
2006 Sea 12 14 0 - 0 31 31 2 191.0 195 105 96 23 60 2 176 1.34 4.52
2007 Sea 14 7 0 - 0 30 30 1 190.1 209 88 83 20 53 4 165 1.38 3.92
2008 Sea 9 11 0 - 0 31 31 2 200.2 198 85 77 17 80 7 175 1.39 3.45
2009 Sea 19 5 0 - 0 34 34 2 238.2 200 81 66 15 71 0 217 1.14 2.49
2010 Sea 13 12 0 - 0 34 34 6 249.2 194 80 63 17 70 1 232 1.06 2.27
2011 Sea 14 14 0 - 0 33 33 5 233.2 218 99 90 19 67 0 222 1.22 3.47
2012 Sea 13 9 0 - 0 33 33 5 232.0 209 84 79 14 56 0 223 1.14 3.06
2013 Sea 12 10 0 - 0 31 31 0 204.1 185 74 69 15 46 1 216 1.13 3.04
2014 Sea 15 6 0 - 0 34 34 0 236.0 170 68 56 16 46 1 248 0.92 2.14
2015 Sea 18 9 0 - 0 31 31 2 201.2 180 80 79 23 58 0 191 1.18 3.53
2016 Sea 11 8 0 - 0 25 25 0 153.1 138 76 65 19 65 0 122 1.32 3.82
2017 Sea 6 5 0 - 0 16 16 0 86.2 86 46 42 17 26 0 78 1.29 4.36
2018 Sea 6 6 0 - 0 16 16 0 89.1 90 55 51 12 32 0 76 1.37 5.14
Career 166 120 0 - 0 391 391 25 2591.2 2333 1047 941 232 753 16 2418 1.19 3.27

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 Sea 31 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2007 Sea 30 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2008 Sea 31 1 1 1 0 0 1 4 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 4.000
2009 Sea 34 6 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .143 .000
2010 Sea 34 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Sea 33 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2012 Sea 33 3 0 1 1 0 0 2 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .667
2013 Sea 31 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .167 .000
2014 Sea 34 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Sea 31 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Sea 25 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Sea 16 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 391 45 3 4 1 0 1 7 2 20 0 0 .089 .128 .178


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 630 92 84 89.2 42.48
Curveball 391 82 72 78.8 26.37
Slider 93 87 80 82.8 6.27
Changeup 369 88 80 84.9 24.88

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Sponsored Articles