Share this story...
Latest News

MLB Baseball

#28
Leury García
AVG HR RBI
.229 1 5
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 5-8 / 180 NFBC ADP: 694.97
Position: CFBorn: 3/18/1991 Birthplace: Santiago, DR
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: Undrafted by Rangers (2007)


Latest News
June 19 10:00 AM PT11:00 AM MT12:00 PM CT1:00 PM ET13:00 ET17:00 GMT1:00 10:00 AM MST12:00 PM EST12:30 PM VEN21:00 UAE12:00 PM CT-The White Sox placed Garcia on the 10-day disabled list Monday with a sprained finger on his left hand.
Analysis: Garcia, 26, did not start Sunday for the seventh straight game, being available only as a pinch runner. The move is retroactive to June 16. Garcia is hitting .298 with nine doubles, one triple, six home runs, 22 RBIs, 28 runs scored and a .345 on-base percentage in 56 games this season. Garcia is the team's regular center fielder but has played left field, shortstop and second base.
June 16 4:22 PM PT5:22 PM MT6:22 PM CT7:22 PM ET19:22 ET23:22 GMT7:22 4:22 PM MST6:22 PM EST6:52 PM VEN3:22 UAE (+1)6:22 PM CT-Garcia (hand) was out of the lineup again Friday in Toronto.
Analysis: Garcia's afternoon ended a bit early Sunday after he jammed his left middle finger while attempting to steal second base in the fifth inning. He's since been limited to one pinch-hitting appearance.
June 15 5:16 PM PT6:16 PM MT7:16 PM CT8:16 PM ET20:16 ET0:16 GMT8:16 5:16 PM MST7:16 PM EST7:46 PM VEN4:16 UAE (+1)7:16 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 0 for 1 with an RBI Thursday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Baltimore Orioles 5-2. He ended the game with a .298 batting average.
June 14 12:51 PM PT1:51 PM MT2:51 PM CT3:51 PM ET15:51 ET19:51 GMT3:51 12:51 PM MST2:51 PM EST3:21 PM VEN23:51 UAE2:51 PM CT-Garcia is out of the lineup for a third straight game Wednesday due to a sore left hand.
Analysis: Garcia hasn't played since injuring his hand when sliding into second base Sunday. He's batting .400 in his last 11 games.
June 11 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 2 for 3 Sunday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Cleveland Indians 4-2. He ended the game with a .300 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia's afternoon ended a bit early after he jammed his left middle finger while attempting to steal second base in the fifth inning. The White Sox are calling him day to day for now, and he wasn't in Monday's lineup against the Orioles. "We're hoping it's not a long-term thing," manager Rick Renteria said.
June 11 9:15 PM PT10:15 PM MT11:15 PM CT12:15 AM ET0:15 ET4:15 GMT12:15 9:15 PM MST11:15 PM EST11:45 PM VEN8:15 UAE11:15 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Cleveland Indians 5-3. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .294 batting average.
June 9 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 2 for 4 with a double Friday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 7-3. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .301 batting average.
June 9 9:40 AM PT10:40 AM MT11:40 AM CT12:40 PM ET12:40 ET16:40 GMT0:40 9:40 AM MST11:40 AM EST12:10 PM VEN20:40 UAE11:40 AM CT-Leury Garcia went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-5. He ended the game with a .296 batting average.
June 8 8:42 AM PT9:42 AM MT10:42 AM CT11:42 AM ET11:42 ET15:42 GMT23:42 8:42 AM MST10:42 AM EST11:12 AM VEN19:42 UAE10:42 AM CT-Leury Garcia went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-1. Garcia scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .298 batting average.
June 6 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the Chicago White Sox beat the Tampa Bay Rays 4-2. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .297 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia is 10 for 24 (.417) with four RBIs over a seven-game hitting streak.
June 3 5:06 PM PT6:06 PM MT7:06 PM CT8:06 PM ET20:06 ET0:06 GMT8:06 5:06 PM MST7:06 PM EST7:36 PM VEN4:06 UAE (+1)7:06 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 1 for 3 Saturday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 10-1. He ended the game with a .292 batting average.
June 2 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Garcia went 2 for 4 with three RBIs Friday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Detroit Tigers 15-5. He ended the game with a .291 batting average.
Analysis: He is 7 for 17 in his last four games.
June 1 8:26 AM PT9:26 AM MT10:26 AM CT11:26 AM ET11:26 ET15:26 GMT23:26 8:26 AM MST10:26 AM EST10:56 AM VEN19:26 UAE10:26 AM CT-Leury Garcia went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-1. Garcia added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 31 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Leury Garcia went 3 for 5 with a double and an RBI Tuesday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Boston Red Sox 13-7. Garcia scored twice. He ended the game with a .287 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia has surprisingly been one of the Sox's top hitters. He's been particularly good at home, batting .344 with three homers, four doubles and 12 RBIs in 17 games.
May 28 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Detroit Tigers 7-3. He ended the game with a .276 batting average.
May 28 7:03 AM PT8:03 AM MT9:03 AM CT10:03 AM ET10:03 ET14:03 GMT22:03 7:03 AM MST9:03 AM EST9:33 AM VEN18:03 UAE9:03 AM CT-Leury Garcia went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Detroit Tigers 4-3. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
May 27 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 1 for 4 with a triple and an RBI Saturday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Detroit Tigers 3-0. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .285 batting average.
May 27 10:23 PM PT11:23 PM MT12:23 AM CT1:23 AM ET1:23 ET5:23 GMT13:23 10:23 PM MST12:23 AM EST12:53 AM VEN9:23 UAE12:23 AM CT-Leury Garcia went 0 for 4 Friday as the Chicago White Sox beat the Detroit Tigers 8-2. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 24 5:54 PM PT6:54 PM MT7:54 PM CT8:54 PM ET20:54 ET0:54 GMT8:54 5:54 PM MST7:54 PM EST8:24 PM VEN4:54 UAE (+1)7:54 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 8-6. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .295 batting average.
May 24 6:53 AM PT7:53 AM MT8:53 AM CT9:53 AM ET9:53 ET13:53 GMT21:53 6:53 AM MST8:53 AM EST9:23 AM VEN17:53 UAE8:53 AM CT-Leury Garcia went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4. He ended the game with a .288 batting average.
May 23 6:46 AM PT7:46 AM MT8:46 AM CT9:46 AM ET9:46 ET13:46 GMT21:46 6:46 AM MST8:46 AM EST9:16 AM VEN17:46 UAE8:46 AM CT-Garcia went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Monday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-1. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .289 batting average.
Analysis: The homer is his lone hit in 12 at-bats over his last five games.
May 22 10:18 AM PT11:18 AM MT12:18 PM CT1:18 PM ET13:18 ET17:18 GMT1:18 10:18 AM MST12:18 PM EST12:48 PM VEN21:18 UAE12:18 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Seattle Mariners 8-1. He ended the game with a .288 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia was back in the starting lineup after missing two games. Garcia was hit on the elbow in Thursday's series opener.
May 19 7:48 AM PT8:48 AM MT9:48 AM CT10:48 AM ET10:48 ET14:48 GMT22:48 7:48 AM MST9:48 AM EST10:18 AM VEN18:48 UAE9:48 AM CT-Garcia was not in the lineup Friday in Seattle after he left Thursday's game in the bottom of the fifth inning with a bruised right elbow after getting hit by a pitch in the top half of the inning. However, he did pinch-run and played center field.
Analysis: Garcia is batting .357 (15 for 42) with two homers, two doubles, seven RBIs and nine runs scored over his last 11 games.
May 18 7:37 AM PT8:37 AM MT9:37 AM CT10:37 AM ET10:37 ET14:37 GMT22:37 7:37 AM MST9:37 AM EST10:07 AM VEN18:37 UAE9:37 AM CT-Leury Garcia went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 12-8. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .301 batting average.
May 17 10:17 AM PT11:17 AM MT12:17 PM CT1:17 PM ET13:17 ET17:17 GMT1:17 10:17 AM MST12:17 PM EST12:47 PM VEN21:17 UAE12:17 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 2 for 5 with a double Tuesday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Los Angeles Angels 7-6. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .312 batting average.
May 16 6:37 AM PT7:37 AM MT8:37 AM CT9:37 AM ET9:37 ET13:37 GMT21:37 6:37 AM MST8:37 AM EST9:07 AM VEN17:37 UAE8:37 AM CT-Garcia went 1 for 3 Monday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Los Angeles Angels 5-3. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .308 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia is batting .406 with seven RBIs over an eight-game stretch, and should be given a serious fantasy look if available.
May 14 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 2 for 5 with a double and two RBIs Sunday as the Chicago White Sox topped the San Diego Padres 9-3. Garcia scored twice and stole a base. He ended the game with a .307 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia is batting .414 with two homers, seven RBIs and six runs during a seven-game hitting streak. The switch-hitter is batting .367 in 30 at-bats against left-handers this season.
May 13 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 1 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the Chicago White Sox beat the San Diego Padres 5-4. He ended the game with a .302 batting average.
Analysis: Garcia has hit safely in six straight games, batting .417.
May 13 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE11:43 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 3 for 4 with two home runs and three RBIs Friday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the San Diego Padres 6-3. The homers were his third and fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .304 batting average.
Analysis: It was the first career multi-homer game for Garcia, who is 9 for 20 with four RBIs in his last five games.
May 12 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Minnesota Twins 7-6. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .284 batting average.
May 7 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 4-0. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 6 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 2 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Baltimore Orioles 6-5. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .288 batting average.
May 5 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 2 for 4 Friday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 4-2. He ended the game with a .276 batting average.
May 4 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 0 for 3 Thursday as the Chicago White Sox topped the Kansas City Royals 8-3. Garcia scored once. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
May 4 9:24 AM PT10:24 AM MT11:24 AM CT12:24 PM ET12:24 ET16:24 GMT0:24 9:24 AM MST11:24 AM EST11:54 AM VEN20:24 UAE11:24 AM CT-Leury Garcia went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-1. He ended the game with a .275 batting average.
May 3 8:50 AM PT9:50 AM MT10:50 AM CT11:50 AM ET11:50 ET15:50 GMT23:50 8:50 AM MST10:50 AM EST11:20 AM VEN19:50 UAE10:50 AM CT-Leury Garcia went 0 for 4 with an RBI Tuesday as the Chicago White Sox beat the Kansas City Royals 6-0. He ended the game with a .288 batting average.
May 2 8:15 AM PT9:15 AM MT10:15 AM CT11:15 AM ET11:15 ET15:15 GMT23:15 8:15 AM MST10:15 AM EST10:45 AM VEN19:15 UAE10:15 AM CT-Leury Garcia went 1 for 4 Monday as the Chicago White Sox fell to the Kansas City Royals 6-1. He ended the game with a .306 batting average.
Apr. 30 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)3:58 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 2 for 4 Sunday as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-3. He ended the game with a .310 batting average.
Apr. 29 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Leury Garcia went 0 for 3 with an RBI Saturday as the Chicago White Sox beat the Detroit Tigers 6-4. He ended the game with a .296 batting average.
Apr. 29 10:02 PM PT11:02 PM MT12:02 AM CT1:02 AM ET1:02 ET5:02 GMT13:02 10:02 PM MST12:02 AM EST12:32 AM VEN9:02 UAE12:02 AM CT-Leury Garcia went 1 for 4 Friday as the Chicago White Sox beat the Detroit Tigers 7-3. He ended the game with a .314 batting average.
Apr. 26 4:34 PM PT5:34 PM MT6:34 PM CT7:34 PM ET19:34 ET23:34 GMT7:34 4:34 PM MST6:34 PM EST7:04 PM VEN3:34 UAE (+1)6:34 PM CT-Garcia hit a solo homer Wednesday against the Royals.
Analysis: He's 7 for 11 with three RBIs and four runs scored over his last three games.
Apr. 26 7:27 AM PT8:27 AM MT9:27 AM CT10:27 AM ET10:27 ET14:27 GMT22:27 7:27 AM MST9:27 AM EST9:57 AM VEN18:27 UAE9:27 AM CT-Garcia recorded his second straight three-hit game Tuesday.
Analysis: His average has gone from .222 to .318.
Apr. 25 9:03 AM PT10:03 AM MT11:03 AM CT12:03 PM ET12:03 ET16:03 GMT0:03 9:03 AM MST11:03 AM EST11:33 AM VEN20:03 UAE11:03 AM CT-Garcia went 3 for 4 in the White Sox's 12-1 rout of the Royals on Monday.
Analysis: That was just the third three-hit game of Garcia's major league career.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 CWS 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 2 2 0 2 0 0 3.00 18.00
2015 CWS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1.00 0.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 2 2 2 0 2 0 1 2.00 9.00

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Tex 25 52 8 10 0 1 0 1 3 16 1 0 .192 .236 .231
2013 CWS 20 49 2 10 1 0 0 1 4 18 6 2 .204 .259 .224
2013 Tot 45 101 10 20 1 1 0 2 7 34 7 2 .198 .248 .228
2014 CWS 74 145 13 24 3 0 1 6 5 48 11 1 .166 .192 .207
2015 CWS 18 14 0 3 0 0 0 1 1 7 1 0 .214 .267 .214
2016 CWS 18 48 6 11 1 1 1 5 1 13 2 1 .229 .260 .354
Career 155 308 29 58 5 2 2 14 14 102 21 4 .188 .225 .237


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.